Opened 6 years ago

Closed 6 years ago

#3558 closed Defect (Duplicate)

Quit confirmation dialog popped from sleep is extremely annoying.

Reported by: anonymous Owned by:
Component: Colloquy (Mac) Version: 2.4 (Mac)
Severity: Normal Keywords:
Cc:

Description

Since last update if I wake my mac up from sleep, Colloquy pops up a confirmation telling me that I quit with whatever message the server notes and does not rejoin the server. This dialog accompanies the main window telling me that I left the chat by being disconnected from the server in the main window.

Did I mention because of the confirmation Colloquy is jumping up and down needlessly in the Dock? That is really, really annoying coming from an irc client which should either reconnect automatically if it's marked to automatically connect on start (to be honest, it should be a separate connection/app preference) or do nothing.

Either this is a new irritant that came in from 2.3 -> 2.4, or it never showed before for whatever reason. Either way, it's annoying enough to switch IRC clients since there is no obvious way to disable this alert.

A guideline to follow:
Unless the USER is doing something dangerous, never issue a focus-grabbing confirmation dialog.
-or-
If you insist on using confirmation dialogs, make sure there is a "Do not show again" checkbox.

Change History (1)

comment:1 Changed 6 years ago by zach

  • Resolution set to Duplicate
  • Status changed from new to closed
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.