Opened 6 years ago

Closed 6 years ago

#3534 closed Defect (Duplicate)

lost connection dialog introduced in 2.4.1 (5738) prevents automatic reconnection

Reported by: phil@… Owned by:
Component: Colloquy (Mac) Version: 2.4 (Mac)
Severity: Normal Keywords:
Cc:

Description

Hello, I work at a company where we use IRC internally for corporate communications. We are exclusively Mac OS, and up until recently nearly every employee has used Colloquy on their laptops for IRC. As you are most likely already aware, since the release of 2.4.1 (5738) a new dialog box comes up when connection is lost, and this dialog will remain open until you click "Okay". Reconnection to the server is not attempted until this dialog box is dismissed.

The reason I consider this to be a bug is simple, I expect Colloquy to automatically re-connect to IRC when I open my laptop when I arrive either at work or home, and so does every other user I have talked to about this issue. Many of us use multiple desktops/spaces and we don't always see the dialog box for quite some time, meaning we aren't logged into IRC when we falsely believe we are.

This issue has hindered communication for us in many cases, and many of us have already switched to different IRC clients as a result. I am very close to doing the same, although I happen to really like Colloquy and don't want to switch.

As a resolution, I would like to see one of two things: either remove the dialog and just automatically re-connect, or introduce a configuration setting allowing the dialog box to be disabled.

Thanks!

Change History (1)

comment:1 Changed 6 years ago by zach

  • Resolution set to Duplicate
  • Status changed from new to closed
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.